If you don’t want to keep someone’s messages in your inbox on Instagram longer then you can easily delete them. In this article, we show you how to delete chat messages on Instagram from both sides.
While Instagram is mostly used to share images and videos with your followers and to keep up with what’s going on in the lives of your friends and favorite celebs, this social media site also has an Instagram Direct function that acts as the platform’s own private messaging platform.
Instagram Direct allows you to respond to a friend’s Instagram Story or simply have a brief discussion with someone you follow or who follows you. If you use Instagram Direct frequently, your inbox may get crowded and seems irritating. If you no longer want an Instagram message in your inbox after a discussion has ended, you may delete it in a few simple steps.
Read also:- Easiest Way to Mute/Unmute Someone on Instagram
How to Delete Messages on Instagram
- On your iPhone or Android’s home screen, find the Instagram app, press it to launch the app.
- Tap the Instagram Direct symbol, which looks like a Facebook Messneger icon, in the upper right-hand corner of your screen.
- Find the discussion you want to remove and delete it. Swipe left on your iPhone to display the Mute and Delete options. You can access these choices on your Android by clicking and holding the chat.
- On the chat, tap Delete. You’ll see a pop-up asking you to confirm that you want to delete the discussion. To entirely delete the discussion, tap Delete once more.
Note:- When you delete chat messages in this way, it removes only from your inbox only, the person with whom you discussed it can still see it in their inbox. If you want to delete Instagram messages from both sides then follow the steps given below.
How to Delete Instagram Messages from Both Sides
Simply press and hold the “Unsend” button while holding down your message. This will remove a message from both ends, meaning the person you sent it to will no longer be able to see it.
Step 1. Open the Instagram Direct Inbox by tapping the messenger icon on the top right-hand side of the screen.
Step 2. Select the follower whose chat messages you want to delete.
Step 3. Tap and hold the message you want to remove from both sides then tap the Unsend option.
Step 4. Tap on Unsend to remove the message from the chat section.
If I unsend Messages will the other Person be Notified?
If the person whom you sent the messages has Instagram notifications set on, they will be notified when you unsend the message. Otherwise, your message may have been viewed by the person you’re talking to before you unsend it, but it will no longer show in the discussion for either person.
Does Blocking someone on Instagram will Delete Messages?
When you block someone on Instagram, the messages and texts they’ve sent you aren’t deleted. Before you block the person, you must unsend the messages and remove the discussion to confirm that conversations have been erased on both sides.
Blocking a user will only prevent them from finding your Instagram account or sending you messages on Instagram. It won’t get rid of the messages or texts they’ve sent you. You’ll need to unsend the messages and cancel the discussion from both sides to erase the conversations.
Some other useful articles:-
- How to Download Video from Instagram Story
- How to Mute/Unmute Someone On Snapchat
- Lock your Snapchat Story to Make it Private
- How to Restrict Someone On Facebook