How to Mute/Unmute Someone On Snapchat

Do Not Disturb is a Snapchat feature that allows you to mute specific individuals or groups without delivering a notification. Muted accounts, unlike banned and unfriended accounts, can still contact you. Do Not Disturb simply disables all alerts from the user or group who has been blacklisted.

If you’ve ever put your phone on Do Not Disturb mode or muted a Facebook Messenger discussion, you’ll be familiar with this capability. It’s the same idea — a simple solution to overly chatty pals who are solely interested in obtaining Snapchat trophies, or the extra active Snapchat group that explains your ridiculously high Snapchat score.

On Snapchat, you can enable Do Not Disturb for certain friends or groups. This functionality has been moved to a new location called ‘Message Notifications’ in the recent update.

We’ll show you how to mute a friend’s Snapchat story because even the stories of some people are sometimes irritating.

Read also:- How to Recover Snapchat Messages

What Happens When you Mute Someone On Snapchat and Why use it?

If someone’s alerts are bothering you, you can remove or block them from Snapchat (if you want to know this, scroll to the bottom). However, if you only want to get rid of the notifications and not the messages, this isn’t the best option.

That’s when the ‘Do Not Disturb’ features come in handy. When you enable Do Not Disturb mode or put someone’s message notifications on silent, it means you don’t want to be notified when they send you a message. However, you will continue to get messages from that individual in your inbox; the difference is that you will not be bothered by the repeated notifications.

How to Turn On the Do Not Disturb On Snapchat

Follow the actions outlined below to silence someone’s message notifications. The instructions are compatible with both Android and iOS devices.

  1. Open Snapchat and press on the conversation icon or swipe right on the camera screen to access the Friends section.
  2. Now, long press/tap on the name of the person or group for which you want to turn off notifications.
  3. A pop-up window will open with a choice of sections then select More.
  4. You’ll now see plenty of different options, simply select Message Notifications.
  5. Finally, turn off the message notifications.
how to mute someone on Snapchat

That is all there is to do. Do Not Disturb will be enabled, and you will no longer get notifications from that individual or group.

See also:- What does Pending Mean on Snapchat

How to Unmute someone on Snapchat

If you want to enable notifications for those friends/groups again, follow the same steps as before and change the Message Notifications to All Messages.

  1. Open Snapchat and press on the conversation icon or swipe right on the camera screen to access the Friends section.
  2. Now, long press/tap on the name of the person or group for which you want to turn off notifications.
  3. A pop-up window will open with a choice of sections then hit on More.
  4. You’ll now see plenty of different options,  Simply select Message Notifications.
  5. Finally, turn on the message notifications.

How to Mute someone’s Story On Snapchat

You must first complete the procedures outlined above to prevent getting notified about a specific friend’s stories. To do so, go to the Friends page and then tap and hold on to the friend whose Story you wish to mute. After that, press More to extend the options, and then tap Mute Story to end the process.

You won’t be able to see their stories unless you manually tap on them after doing so. If you want to unmute their tales after a while, repeat the steps above and select Unmute story.

What Happens If You Mute Story On Snapchat

When you mute someone’s Snapchat story, you ensure that you don’t accidentally watch that person’s tale while watching others. That isn’t to say that the person’s story won’t appear on the Discover tab; it just means that you’ll have to manually touch on it to view it. Additionally, that person would be able to see your stories. So, if you don’t want it, you just have one option: block that individual.

If mute someone is not enough then you can remove that user from your friend list, follow the below steps to remove someone from your friend list.

Recommended for you:- How to Lock your Snapchat Story to Make it Private

How to Remove someone from the Friend List

  • Swipe to the right to go to the Chat section.
  • Tap hold on friend’s name.
  • Tap on the More.
  • Now tap on Remove Friend.

Conclusion

So, if you’re reading this, you already know how to turn on Snapchat’s do not disturb mode, You also learned how to silence the stories of those annoying friends and you now know how to remove or block a friend. However, we sincerely hope that this post was successful in clarifying the confusion.

Related articles:-

Leave a Comment